Time hurries on

I have not written in a while, I know. I have not felt there has been much to say lately. I keep on medicating, hoping my little guy will stop wheezing, continually being disappointed. Sometimes it is a psychological battle to get him to take it – he is too smart for his own good and not yet old enough to sagely accept the slightly funny-tasting porridge for the gift that it nevertheless is – something Godric came to do over time.

Apart from that, the boys are growing, their lives a microcosm; a couple of months pass, half a year, and we don’t even notice it. We say to each other, ‘wow, the year is passing quickly’ when we suddenly realise it’s April – just like we do every year.

And in that time passing unnoticed, Tyrion goes from baby to teenager, fighting with his brothers, though still the smallest of the group.Β  Garrus, Mordin and Thane turn one and I am so caught up in my thoughts, I only remember 3 weeks later – unforgiveable as two of them have pedigrees and I know their exact birth date. We have a small party of muffins.

It's MY birthday!

It’s MY birthday!

Time passes, and slowly the older boys can be convinced to cuddle from time to time. My identical black Berkshires – Eric and Godric – are now easier to tell apart from the front. Godric’s nose has gone brown, while Eric’s is more grey. Godric is also now about 100g heavier than Eric – as much a sign of Eric’s current illness as of Godric’s lifelong illness. Godric has been getting his medicine in a spoonful of porridge twice a day for most of his life. They will turn 2 in just a few months. Eric occasionally lets me cuddle him now, for a short while at a time – such precious moments.

The wheezing is an issue with the current group, something I don’t recall ever experiencing before with my previous rats. Perhaps once it goes around the group, you battle to get rid of it. We keep on keeping on, trying different medications, trying to keep the temperature steady, the cage clean… Some of them show improvement, others not so much.

Anyway, here are some more photos from the birthday party:

IMG_1117 IMG_1120 IMG_1084 IMG_1093

9 comments on “Time hurries on

  1. nomineuk says:

    That looks like a fun party. Unlike the wheezing… I had recurrent problems with respiratory problems with my group, drugs would settle things down for a few weeks but then it would be back again with one or more of them – the most successful treatment we came up with was three weeks of a Baytril and Ronaxan (doxycycline) combination which gave them a few months with no more than the occasional sneeze.

    I don’t know if you can get Beaphar malt paste (it’s for ferrets, but ratties love it) – I use it for giving medication and I’ve never had it refused, in fact Nine used to snatch the spoon off me πŸ™‚

    • Kate says:

      I think my biggest problem with the medicine Tyrion has been on lately is the sheer quantity – 0.5ml of the one – so it takes quite a bit of porridge, or whatever, to adequately disguise it… So when he stops eating, I top up with porridge. Sigh.

      • nomineuk says:

        Can you split it into two doses, morning and evening? That’s what I do with anything in quantity – apart from anything else, ratties have fast metabolisms and I reckon there’s no harm in spreading the medication across the day (and my vet is happy with me doing that).

      • Kate says:

        It’s already 2 doses – 0.5ml twice a day! Anyway, the medication finished today and it hasn’t been working, so I think we will need to try something else.

      • nomineuk says:

        oh… that much would be hard work 😦

  2. ashlynsully says:

    I love this. I wish I knew my babies birthdays!

  3. […] come twice a year in our home. Mordin, Garrus and Thane were born around the same time and they turned one in February this […]

Leave a Reply

